Vikings athletes receive NAIA honorsSports

Edurado da Silva HAAC MVP

Lady Vikings run off the field.

 Missouri Valley College is well known for its sports and at the end of each semester student-athletes are given honors and awards from the Heart of America Athletic Conference (HAAC).  Each conference of the NAIA gives out All-American Conference honors.

The Vikings of Missouri Valley College recognized 45 conference honorees.

The men’s and women’s cross country team each had a member receive all-conference status by their individual performance in the 2011 HAAC  cross country race. The race took place in Fayette, Mo. The top 15 racers received the Heart of American All-Conference honors.

Sophomore Amanda Buhr finished 13th in the women’s 5k race with a time of 20:16, the women’s team placed fifth overall. Junior Matt Leonard finished 14th in the men’s 8k race with a time of 27:08, helping his team place fourth overall. The track and field team will begin their season January 15 at the Principal Relays in St. Louis.

The MVC Women’s Volleyball team had five Lady Vikings receive 2011 Heart of American Athletic Conference Volleyball honors. Senior Dustina Bitten was named 2011 first team all-conference and senior Camille Rand, junior Jessica Gates, and senior Nicole Search received all-conference honorable mentions. Freshman Megan Hardin was named to the 2011 all-conference second team and 2011 HAAC Freshman Player of the year.

The MVC Football team had 22 players receive an award in the HAAC.  Junior Stephen Kelly and senior Chris Heale were named first team all-conference for the offense. For the first team all-conference defensive team, senior Richard Wick, senior Adam Maher and sophomore Tyler Davis received the honors.

Keith O' Neal runs over his opponent.

The Vikings had six more players receive all-conference second team. On offense, junior Chris Owens, senior Gary Taylor, senior Rommel Reed, and sophomore Keith O’Neal, and, for the defense, senior Trey Kampeter and sophomore Tyler Davis.  For the HAAC football third team the Vikings had five more all-conference: senior John Carrell, freshman Nijel Daw for the offense and junior Tripp Thomas, junior Phil Kraft and senior Wayne Williams for the defense.  Six more Vikings were given honorable mention: senior Gareth Brown, junior Rob Barrington, freshman Bruce Reyes, sophomore Skyler Wedeking, senior Ben Hemplemann and junior Jimmy Moors. The football team made it to the playoffs and won the conference championship.

The women’s soccer team had six players receive conference honors. Junior Yesica Hernandez and sophomore Breann Kinworthy were named first team all-conference. Junior Laurie Gilbert, senior Amanda Hempelmann and senior Ariel Cantrell received second team all-conference. Sophomore Casey Rausch made third team all-conference. The lady Vikings placed fourth in their conference.

The men’s soccer team had a great year with many players receiving awards. Senior Eduardo Da Silva was the 2011 Heart of American Conference Offensive Player of the Year and 2011 HAAC MVP.  The Vikings team shared the conference championship with Baker University.

Eduardo da Silva, HAAC MVP.

The Vikings athletic teams had a great fall semester and hope to continue in the spring semester with men’s and women’s wrestling, inside and outside track and field, baseball, and softball.

Drew Mohler

About Drew Mohler

Drew Mohler has contributed 13 posts to The Delta.

Drew Mohler is a Mass Communication major. He likes taking photographs and reporting news. He runs, as a member of the MVC Cross Country and Track teams.

There are no comments published yet.