Scholars honored at special banquetAwardsFeaturedGalleryNewsNews Gallery

Scholar Brendan Carter is congratulated by Associate Professor Ed Leslie as the essay winner.

Students are honored at the Scholar Banquet.

Twenty-one MVC student-scholars were honored at the annual Scholar Banquet on Monday evening, April 9, in the R. Wilson Brown Room.

In the photo above, student-scholar honorees were (front, from left) Kathleen Patrick (Finance), Amanda Turner (Mathematics), Megan Beth Case (Elementary Education), Kaylee Peery (Exercise Science), Amanda Scaggs (Middle School Education), Ashley Boyd (Public Relations), Patricia “Patsy” Middleton (Accounting), and Ariel Cantrell (Marketing); (back, from left) Tessa Belcher (English), Brendan Carter (Physical Education), Brittney Woody (Biology), Amanda Marquette (Art), Charlique Rolle (Dance), Devon Wade (Mass Communication), Nikola Nonkovic (Economics), Camille Rand (Psychology), Melissa Kuenz (Criminal Justice), Mayuka Abe Buckley (Religion/Philosophy), and Jessica Manjarrez (Management). Not pictured: Janie Jungermann (Athletic Training) and Justin Hendricks (Social Studies Education).

The scholars recognized parents or other guests who attended the banquet.

Scholar Brendan Carter is congratulated by Associate Professor Ed Leslie as the essay winner.

Associate Professor Ed Leslie presented the “Lamp of Knowledge” award to Brendan Carter for the best essay about “What Missouri Valley College Means to Me.” Carter, who also received a $100 stipend from Leslie, read his essay to those in attendance.

Program participants or presenters of the scholar certificates were Chief Academic Officer Sharon Weiser; Earl Wellborn Jr., dean of Education; and the Rev. Pam Sebastian, MVC chaplain. Scholar student Mayuka Abe Buckley assisted with the benediction. The MVC Scholar Committee members were Sharon Weiser, Earl Wellborn Jr., Sharon Hoeflicker, and Ed and Wendy Leslie.


David Roberts

About David Roberts

David Roberts has contributed 68 posts to The Delta.

David L. Roberts is an assistant professor of Mass Communication and adviser for the Delta projects. Born in Wyoming where he once started and produced a weekly newspaper, he has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Arizona and a master’s degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

There are no comments published yet.